Best Compatible Ink for HP 910 & 910XL (2026): Remanufactured vs Genuine Compared

Last updated: October 28, 2026.

Quick answer: For an HP OfficeJet Pro 8025, 8035 or OfficeJet 8015 that was set up without HP+, the set we would buy is our remanufactured HP 910XL 4-pack with original HP chips at $64.99. Four genuine 910XL cartridges bought singly cost about $153.66 at Staples, so the pack saves roughly 58%, and at a rated 3,300 pages it is 2.0 cents a page against about 5.4 cents for genuine. The new-chip 4-pack is $10 less at $54.99. The caveat that matters: every "e" model in this family (8025e, 8035e, 8015e and the rest) is an HP+ printer, and if HP+ was activated at setup, only Original HP 910 cartridges will work, full stop.

We'll say the obvious thing up front: we sell these cartridges, so read our pick with that in mind. To balance it, the table below lists LD Products, 4inkjets, Staples, an Amazon marketplace brand and a Walmart marketplace seller next to our own prices, and where they are cheaper, we say so. The post covers which printers take HP 910, every option's cost per page as of October 2026, which chip version to buy, and the two traps on this family: HP+ and HP's 2025 firmware update.

HP+ warning: The OfficeJet Pro 8025e, 8035e, 8028e, 8034e and OfficeJet 8015e, 8012e and 8022e are sold with HP+ enrolment turned on by default during setup. HP's HP+ FAQ says an activated printer "will require the use of Original HP Ink for the lifetime of the printer," and HP does not document a way to reverse it. Third-party sellers say the same thing from the other side: E-Z Ink's own 910XL listing states it does not work with HP+ activated printers. If you want the option of remanufactured ink, decline HP+ when you set the printer up. The non-"e" 8025, 8035, 8020 and 8015 have no such restriction.

What printers use HP 910 ink?

HP 910 and 910XL are the cartridges for HP's 2019-generation OfficeJet and OfficeJet Pro 8000 series:

Each printer takes four separate cartridges feeding a permanent printhead inside the printer. The chip on each cartridge is what the printer checks, which is why the chip version matters more here than on a DeskJet with an integrated-printhead cartridge.

HP 910 prices compared: OEM vs Castle Ink vs other sellers

Seller Product Type Price Rated yield Cost per page Warranty / notes
HP (via LD Products) HP 910 Black (3YL61AN) OEM $29.61 250 11.8¢ HP warranty; HP rates ~300 pages, LD and Quill list 250; Staples does not stock the single
HP (via Staples) HP 910 Cyan or Magenta, each OEM $18.02 315 5.7¢ HP warranty
HP (via Quill) HP 910 Yellow (3YL60AN) OEM $17.33 315 5.5¢ HP warranty; Staples sells yellow only in a CMY 3-pack
HP (via Staples) HP 910XL Black (3YL65AN) OEM $56.89 720 7.9¢ HP warranty; hp.com now says 720 pages, older packaging says 825; LD lists $62.61
HP (via Staples) HP 910XL Cyan or Yellow, each OEM $31.89 700 4.6¢ HP warranty; spec table says 700, URL says 825
HP (via Staples) HP 910XL Magenta (3YL63AN) OEM $32.99 700 4.7¢ HP warranty
Castle Ink Remanufactured HP 910XL BCMY 4-Pack, Original HP Chip Remanufactured $64.99 3,300 (825 each) 2.0¢ Original HP chips; 1-year return window, full refund; same-day shipping on orders by 4 PM ET Mon–Fri; US phone support
Castle Ink Remanufactured HP 910XL BCMY 4-Pack, New Aftermarket Chip Remanufactured $54.99 3,300 (825 each) 1.7¢ Aftermarket chips; same terms as above
Castle Ink Remanufactured HP 910XL Black, Original HP Chip Remanufactured $26.99 825 3.3¢ New-chip version also $26.99; same terms as above
Castle Ink Remanufactured HP 910XL Cyan, Magenta or Yellow, each Remanufactured $11.99 825 1.5¢ OEM-chip or new-chip; same terms as above
LD Products LD Remanufactured HP 910XL Black Remanufactured $16.99 (list $22.99) 720 2.4¢ Lifetime satisfaction guarantee; 4-pack $48.96; 10-pack $89.91
4inkjets Remanufactured HP 910XL Black Remanufactured $16.99 (list $22.99) 720 2.4¢ Lifetime satisfaction guarantee; ships from US
Staples Staples Remanufactured 910XL Black Remanufactured $31.99 Not listed — 1-year replacement or money back; price from a Best Buy marketplace listing; Staples magenta $22.99 / 825 pages
E-Z Ink (Amazon/Newegg) E-Z Ink 910XL 4-pack Not stated $72.99 Claims 1,000 black / 900 each color — 24-month guarantee; listing says it does not work on HP+ printers or the 8010e/8012e/8035e
DHECINK (Walmart marketplace) DHECINK 910XL-E 4-pack Compatible $36.29 Claims 1,200 black / 1,000 each color — Warranty not stated; listing itself warns firmware updates may block it

Prices checked October 2026 at the sellers' sites; they change often.

A note on yields: our listings, Staples' URLs and most third-party pages still quote 825 pages for 910XL black, which was HP's original marketing figure. HP's current specification is 720 pages for black and about 700 per color. We have used our listed 825 in the table because that is what the product page says, but if you recalculate on HP's 720, our OEM-chip 4-pack comes to about 2.3 cents a page, still well under half the genuine price. Treat the 1,000- and 1,200-page claims from marketplace packs as marketing.

On the black single, LD Products and 4inkjets are $10 cheaper than we are, and LD's 4-pack is $16 under our OEM-chip set and $6 under our new-chip set. On color singles we are the cheapest in the table at $11.99. Where LD beats us, what you get from us instead is same-day shipping from Greenlawn, NY on orders placed by 4 PM ET Monday through Friday, a 1-year return window with a full refund, US phone support, a plain promise to replace or refund any cartridge that arrives defective, and a choice of chip version on every cartridge, which no one else in this table offers.

Our pick: remanufactured HP 910XL 4-pack with original HP chips

The 910XL BCMY 4-pack, original HP chip at $64.99 is our default recommendation because of what happened in April 2025, which we cover below. Each cartridge is a genuine HP 910XL shell, cleaned, refilled, tested, and fitted with the original HP chip from a recycled cartridge, which is the one kind of chip HP's own policy says its firmware leaves alone. Against $153.66 for four genuine XLs it saves about $89, or 58%. The honest trade-off: LD's 4-pack is $48.96, and if you are willing to disable automatic updates and keep them off, a cheaper new-chip set from LD or our own new-chip 4-pack at $54.99 is a reasonable choice.

Heavy users should look at the 910XL 8-pack with original HP chips, two of each color for $135.00. Singles, each in OEM-chip and new-chip versions: 910XL black ($26.99), cyan, magenta and yellow ($11.99 each). The colors are the bargain of the family: $11.99 against $31.89 genuine is about 1.5 cents a page versus 4.6.

HP+, the April 2025 firmware update and which chip to buy

HP 910 is a separate ink-tank cartridge with a chip, so firmware is the central issue. HP's dynamic security blocks "cartridges using non-HP chips or modified or non-HP electronic circuitry," while cartridges with "new or reused HP chips" are "unaffected" (HP support forum, quoting HP's policy). That sentence is the reason we sell every 910XL in two versions. The OEM-chip cartridge reuses a genuine HP chip and has nothing for an update to detect; the new-chip cartridge uses an aftermarket chip that is cheaper to make and is exactly what updates look for.

This is not theoretical on this family. HP firmware 2512B, released April 21, 2025 for the OfficeJet 8010/8020/8030 and OfficeJet Pro 8022 to 8035 series, was reported to block some non-OEM cartridges on the HP 912 family, which is the European version of the 910 (The Recycler). OfficeJet Pro 8025 owners report the message that cartridges are "blocked by the printer firmware because they contain a non-HP chip," sometimes naming a color they never replaced (example report). Even the Walmart marketplace listing in our table warns that firmware updates may block its cartridges. If you buy any new-chip cartridge, from us or anyone, turn off automatic updates first (Settings, then Printer Update on the printer's panel). If you cannot or will not, buy the OEM-chip version.

HP+ is the other trap, and it is worse because there is no chip that gets around it. Once an "e" model is enrolled, the printer refuses every non-HP cartridge for life. If that is your situation, your lower-cost option is HP's Instant Ink, which we cover in our Instant Ink cost comparison.

How to choose an HP 910 cartridge

  • If your model ends in "e," find out whether HP+ was activated at setup; if it was, only Original HP 910 cartridges will work.
  • On a non-HP+ printer, choose the OEM-chip version of a remanufactured 910XL if you cannot or will not disable automatic firmware updates.
  • Turn off automatic firmware updates before installing third-party ink; HP's 2025 firmware blocked some non-OEM 910/912 chips.
  • Color cartridges are the bargain: a remanufactured 910XL color at $11.99 is about 1.5 cents a page versus 4.6 cents for genuine.
  • Buy the 4-pack. All four cartridges tend to run down together, and mixing chip generations causes intermittent errors.
  • Treat 825-page yield claims for 910XL black as the old spec; HP now rates it at 720 pages.

HP 910 Compatible Ink FAQs

Will compatible HP 910XL ink work in an OfficeJet Pro 8025e?

Only if the printer was set up without HP+. HP's HP+ program requires Original HP ink for the printer's lifetime once activated, and third-party sellers such as E-Z Ink state their 910XL cartridges do not work on HP+ activated printers. The non-"e" 8025 has no such restriction.

What is the difference between OEM-chip and new-chip 910XL cartridges?

An OEM-chip cartridge reuses the original HP chip from a recycled cartridge, which HP says is unaffected by dynamic security. A new-chip cartridge uses an aftermarket chip that is cheaper but can be targeted by HP firmware updates.

How many pages does HP 910XL black print?

HP's current specification is up to 720 pages for 910XL black and about 700 pages per 910XL color, although older packaging and many retailer listings still quote 825 pages. Standard 910 black is rated 250 to 300 pages and 910 color about 315.

How much does a set of HP 910XL cost?

Four genuine 910XL cartridges run about $154 at Staples, roughly 5.4 cents per page. Castle Ink's remanufactured 4-pack is $64.99 with original HP chips or $54.99 with new chips, about 2 cents per page.

The bottom line

For an HP 910 printer that was set up without HP+, the remanufactured HP 910XL 4-pack with original HP chips at $64.99 saves about 58% against four genuine XLs and carries the one kind of chip HP's firmware is not looking for. LD Products sells a cheaper remanufactured set, and we have shown its price; the difference is the chip choice and our shipping, return and support terms. If your printer is HP+ enrolled, none of this applies, and we would rather tell you that now than after you order.

Related reading: best compatible ink brands, compatible vs OEM HP ink, best compatible ink for HP 952, best compatible ink for HP 962, what ink does the HP OfficeJet Pro 8025e use, and our HP ink cartridge collection.

Need replacement HP ink cartridges? Shop HP ink cartridges at Castle Ink. Remanufactured, up to 70% less than OEM, and shipped the same day when you order by 4 PM ET.

Castle Ink Presents
The CastleScore™ — this month’s top-rated printers

An independent 0–100 score for every printer, refreshed monthly from thousands of owner reviews and expert tests — plus what the ink or toner actually costs to run. See this month's Top 10 inkjet and laser rankings, or use the PrinterIQ™ finder.

See the CastleScore rankings →
Written and reviewed by — Founder of Castle Ink, 20+ years in the printer & imaging supplies industry.